OISE COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF OISE COUNCIL, held on October 17, 2018 at 3:00 p.m. in the Dean's Boardroom at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Dr. Rose Fine-Meyer
Prof. Patricia Ganea
Prof. Roy Gillis
Mr. Justin Holloway

_

1. Acknowledgement of Traditional Land

In the opening statement, the Vice-Chair, Monique Flaccavento, acknowledged the traditional land on which OISE and the University operates.

The Vice-Chair introduced herself, the Secretary of Council, Ms. Biljana Cuckovic; the Dean, Professor Glen Jones; and Mr. Alfredo Chow who provides technology support for Council meetings. She then welcomed members and guests to the first meeting of OISE Council for the 2018-2019 academic year.

2. Review and Approval of Agenda

The Agenda for the meeting was approved.

3. Review and Approval of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

Minutes of the April 11, 2018 meeting of OISE Council were approved.

4. Executive Committee

Vice-Chair reminded members that, in June 2018, Professor Leslie Stewart-Rose completed her two-year term as Chair of OISE Council. She then called for nominations from the floor for the position of Chair of

Council, the membership of the Special Committee will be approved by the Executive Committee and reported to Council at its next meeting on December 12, 2018.

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried, IT WAS RESOLVED,

THAT the establishment of a Special Committee on Constitutional Revisions be APPROVED as per the proposed Terms of Reference.

5. Dean's Report

The Dean began his report by welcoming the recently appointed academic and administrative leaders: Professor Rhonda Martinussen, who was appointed as Director of the Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study effective July 1, 2018, and Dr. Michel Kouadio, who joined OISE as Director of Education Commons effective August 13, 2018.

New faculty members who recently joined OISE were also acknowledged: Jennifer Brant, Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning; Cassie Brownell, Assistant P

Minutes of the OISE

Navroop Gill, Pat Serafini, Nailisa Tanner, Jenaya Webb and Desmond Wong. In closing, Ms. Flaccavento invited interested students to join the OISE Library Student Advisory Committee.

• OISE Lobby Project

Ms. Helen Huang, Chief Administrative Officer, began her presentation by highlighting the core principles for space planning developed by OISE Deans and Chairs, which will also guide the lobby redesign project. She noted that the OISE lobby has not seen improvement in over forty years, and that